Right2Information

Right to Information – Master key to good governance

Couple uses RTI for self-empowerment

Posted by rtiact2005 on July 8, 2006

Couple uses RTI for self-empowerment

http://www.ndtv.com/template/template.asp?template=rti&slug=Couple+uses+RTI+for+self%2Dempowerment&id

=89940&callid=1&category=National

NDTV Correspondent

Watch story Couple uses RTI for self-empowerment

Saturday, July 8, 2006 (New Delhi):

The Right to Information (RTI) has emerged as a powerful tool that can be used to hold governments accountable.

Besides resolving issues of everyday life, it also helps in influencing major government policies.

In the continuing series, NDTV tracks the self-empowerment story of Arif and Zamila Banu.

“I bought a flat two and a half years back in my wife’s name. After I bought the flat, the builder gave me a copy of the registry. But I found out later that I needed to get a transfer copy and a blueprint for the flat. I went back to the bank officials, but they said that all the papers had been given.

“I had prior knowledge of RTI and that is how I filed one in my wife’s name. I sent this RTI to an officer in the RBI. I received a call within five days from the bank. They asked me about the harassment I had faced. I told them everything. After which they told me that I would have all my paper work done by the next day.

“Sure enough, by morning, all my papers were with me. With the help of RTI, I broke the nexus of the bankers and builders who were making me run around. I appeal to all my fellow citizens to understand the power of RTI. We must remember that all these government officers are answerable to us,” said Arif.

The RTI is being described by most people as one of the most important pieces of legislation, which makes the bureaucracy and government accountable.

Leave a Reply

 
