Right2Information

Right to Information – Master key to good governance

West Bengal SIC – PIO’s – Repository

Posted by rtiact2005 on June 12, 2006

West Bengal 
 Mr.Arun Bhattacharya
 Off: +91-33 – 22215858
 Writers Building,
Kolkata – 700001

Government of West Bengal

PIO Details

http://rti.nic.in/Members/state_wb

Department of Panchayats and Rural Development
 http://rti.nic.in/Members/stateforpadis_wb

40 Responses to “West Bengal SIC – PIO’s – Repository”

  1. Supradip Saha said

    I want to know some information from Income Tax department, Suri, Birbhum. How should i apply under RTI and whom.

  2. ratna chaudhuri said

    The links on this page do not work. I have been trying frantically to get the name of the PIO for the registrar of assurances office in West Bengal, but no luck so far. Does anybody know?

  3. This is for your kind information that the postal address of The Chief State Information Officer of West Bengal, Mr. Arun Bhattacharya is Bhawani Bhawan, 2nd Floor, Alipur, Kolkata-700027 & not Writers Building, Kolkata-700001.The tele-fax no. is 033 24791966 & not 033 22215858.Please update the same.
    Thanking you in anticipation,
    Sincerely yours,

    MALAY BHATTACHARYYA
    for
    WEST BENGAL RTI MANCH
    PHONE: 0091 33 40042286
    MOBILE:09231413834
    FACSIMILE: 0091 33 28360066

  4. jothisj said

    does the RTI work in west bengal? i was shocked to hear from the officers in Klana Subdivision, that such thinks do not exist and there is no officer assigned to this job.
    whome should approach to get information on the rti officer in Kalna subdivision

    hope this website works

    thanks

    jothi

  5. Sabir Ahamed said

    Dear jothi,
    You can easily understand the state of affairs in West Bengal.We used to say , what Bengal think today rest of the India think tomorrow.Even Bihar and Jharkhand govt showed their commimtment to implement RTI act.I have conatcted The Chief State Information Officer of West Bengal, even they did not have the information. I will try my best to find who is the information officer there and get back to you .

    Sabir Ahamed – 9831632697

  6. I have been looking for the office of the Chief Information Officer,West Bengal for a long time.Thanks to Sri sabir Ahmed,who has put in the required address.I understand that their should be absolute transparency
    in the affairs of the state but unluckily the govt.in power thinks otherwise.The RTI has been kept under carpet is glaring example of its defiance.With thanks, Mumtaz Michael

  7. qamar said

    Calcutta madrasah is a Govt. institution but govt. is treating step motherly attitude.It is being dragged in all sorts of political controversy.May I seek information from the competent authority regarding the degradation in academic atmosphere.

  8. SB adil rahman said

    Can any body tell the contact address of Shri Sabir Ahmed? He appears to be active in the field of RTI in Kolkata.
    adil

  9. C.K.Jain said

    By the way who is the SPIO or PIO and its appellate authority in Kolkata Police.Web site of Kolkata POlice is silent.There is also no announcement in paper.I have heard that a nodal officer has been appointed but there is no such provision in RTI act to appoint a nodal officer then what Kolkata Police meant by that?There is grievance cell in lal bazar but no RTI cell or even Human Rights cell. Can any body bring it to the notice of Sri Arun Bhattacharya? But his own web site is very old and is not updated?
    CkJ

  10. Sabir Ahmed said

    Hi,
    Sabir Ahamed is here .My contact detail are given below – The calcutta samariatns , 48 Ripon street , Kolkata – 700016
    033 22276343
    cadcalsam2gmail.com

  11. Sabir Ahmed said

    Date :15.02.08

    Subject: Camp on Right to Information Act, 2005

    Dear Madam/Sir,

    Greetings from the Calcutta Samaritans!

    The Right to Information Bill was introduced in the Lok Sabha in December 2004. It was passed by both houses of Parliament with major amendments in May 2005. The RTI Act aims to bring about transparency in the functioning of public authorities, contain corruption and hold Governments and their instrumentalities accountable to people. The government has, as part of its agenda, linked RTI to good governance in the 10th five year plan.

    The Calcutta Samaritans is organizing a camp in association with Action Aid, Griha Adhikar Manch, RTI Manch WB to identify issues and apply the Right to Information Act, 2005 on 29th February 2008 at Metro Channel in front of Metro Cinema from 11 am to 7 p.m

    . Our objectives are:

    Spreading awareness about the RTI Act throughout the state with particular emphasis on disadvantaged group.
    To motivate people to use RTI act as weapon for realizing their rights.
    Ensuring implementation of he RTI Act in letter and spirit and
    Monitoring compliance of public authority with the provisions of the Act.

    For this purpose we request the kind cooperation as well as participation of yourself and your institution to help us make the afore-mentioned events successful. Please identify at least 10 issues which seem to you to be the most appropriate area for applying this Act. We will also be keeping the required court fee stamps in reserve. You can get them from us for Rs 10/- in the camp itself.

    If you need further information, please contact our office at 033-2227-6343.

    Thanking you in anticipation of your kind cooperation,

    Yours Sincerely,

    Sabir Ahamed

    Programme Coordinator

    Campaign and Advocacy Department

  12. Malhar Majumder said

    Would like to know the activity of Calcutta Samaritans. RTI is a issue which can make governance more effective. People need to be educated so that they demand explanations / information from non-transparent organisation.

  13. S Choudhury said

    Dear Sir,

    Please let me know the address of PIO/CPIO of SDL & LRO Office, Asansol and the fee required to get information under rti’05 act and mode of payment in case of petition sent by registry post.

    Thanking you.

    S.Choudhury
    Ranchi

  14. Ayaz Ahmed said

    After my complaint to the Governor of West Bengal in writing about the malfunctioning of West Bengal information commission and its underconstruction website as well as about Kolkata police, I am happy to see that both the websites were updated. however, still lots have to be done as the particulars of the public information officers and their appellate authorities an incomplete.I appeal to every person to write to the governor of West Bengal, Raj Bhavan, Kolkata 700001
    about the deficiencies for strict implementation of the RTI act in West Bengal. I also appeal to the RTI activists to write as many letters as to the Governor because it works. CIC West Bengal is a retired bureaucrat who has been appointed in violation tosection 15(5) of RTI act which says “The State Chief Information Commissioner and the State Information Commissioners shall be persons of eminence in public life with wide knowledge and experience in law, science and technology, social service, management, journalism, mass media or administration and governance”. As he is a retired person and more than 60 years of age, his mental faculty appears to has gone down. As the bureaucrat he was in charge of one department of government. It is quite difficult for him to cope up with the big responsibilities like hearing the appeals from all over West Bengal and other miscellaneous works keeping himself in line with the policies of the Marxist government which in its policies and function is shrouded as China is. it is appropriate time that a general and mass demand should be made for his removal from the post and appointment of the persons in terms of the spirit of the laws.Hum hongey Kamyab. this act is a revolution and each of us must be evolutionist.Ayaz ahmed.

  15. Koel Mukherjee said

    Dear Mr Ahmed,

    Do the Calcutta Samaritans have an email address I could contact you at?

    Sincerely,

    Koel Mukherjee

  16. Chanchal Dutta said

    To
    The State Chief Information Commissioner,
    West Bengal, Kolkata
    Dear Sir,
    We have repeatedly requested DM Paschim Medinipore to enquire about the Character of land position of Plot No.562,565,567 in JL-311,Kaushallya,Kharagpur Town,but we have not been provided the actual postin of the land.Without changing of the character of the land illegal building construction is going on unabated.Chairman Kharagpur Municipality is issuing permission to construct building on Govrmrnt Khas land and Nayan joli.DM was informed several time but no action was taken nor we have been informed about the decision of the district administration.It cause serious blockade of public drain and state highway land has been illegally occupied by the builders.On RTI act we want to know the postion of the land.
    Thanks,
    Chanchal Dutta & Others,Kaushallya,OT Road,Kharagpur,721301
    17.5.2008

  17. Sabir Ahmed said

    The calcutta samaritans, one of the leading organizations working on RTI in West bengal.Those who are interested to join in our campiagn could contcat us in following address.

    Sabir Ahamed
    The calcutta samaritans
    48 Ripon street
    Kolkata -700 016
    ph 22276343
    RTI Help Line- 9433620192.

  18. S.K. Ahmed said

    Can any one say whether I may get information under WB RTI Rules on functioning of JLRO office(under land and Revenue Deptt of Govt of West Bengal) at Panskura Division of East Midnapore district. If so, who is the PIO/APIO

  19. Chanchal Dutta said

    To
    The State Chief Information Commission, Kolkata
    Ref: Sl.No16 appeal of Chanchal Dutta dated 17th May ,2008
    Dear Sir,
    We have been repeatedly informed Chairman,Kharagpur Municipality, D.M. Paschim Medinipore, S.D.O. Kharagpur & BL&LRO-Kharagpore Block I to stop all illegal construction and blockade of age old drain on plot N0.562,565,567 ,549,26 .JL-311 for past 16 years in ward-28 of Kharagpur Municipality..
    We have informed that plot of 562 is Khas land and entire area is Jala Land and Nayanjoli. Without the consent of the collector ,character of the land cannot be changed.
    We also requested Chairman, MKDA-Midnapore to review the entire matter before any permission is extended to any party. Flouting all Goverment Rules and Regulations building construction is going on unabated on the above mentioned plots violating Honble Court Orders.
    Number of time enquiry was held but we have not been provided with the report.
    On 18th,June 2008 our houses were completly flooded with rain water and presently our wells and tube wells have been polluted because of stagnation of dirty water.
    What is the secret that we have not been provided with the Inspection report. Let all the reports be published and open,so that the chances of CORRUPTION is reduced.
    We request D.M.Paschim Medinipore, State Chief Information Commission to disclose the finding for the public interest.
    We are confident that there is no provision in the law to block age old drain relaid by Municipality 40 years back. For the past 75 years water was passing through the underground private pathway plot 549.
    We request you & seek your help to inform us your decision.
    Yours faithfully,
    Chanchal Dutta
    &S.Atta, Bhaola Pandit,Dulal Pandit,Utpal Dutta,Subash Atta 7others
    29.12.2008

  20. Chanchal Dutta said

    To
    The State Chief Information Commissioner,
    Kolkata.
    Attention to Mr.Arun Bhattacharjee.
    Ref: Illegal Blockade of Public Drain plot 562&
    Constructing Building on Goverment Khas land &
    Nayanjoli ,violating Honble’Court Orderws
    Sir,
    Sm.Nilima Singh and her husband Sri Narendra Nath Singh,OS.
    ADRM, SE Rly Kharagpur, unlawfully blocked the public drain violating Municipality & Court order. They purchased the land illegally and DM Paschim Midnapur has asked BL&LRO to enquire and submit report of the illegality. On plot 562,JL-311,Ward-28 Kharagpur about 45 decimal land remain khas. This Goverment land is being sold out in a clandestine way.Also Sri Singh manage to get their land recorded by settlement department illegally. Matter needs through investigation.
    We requested DM to take action against Sri & SM.Singh for violation against blocking under s. 133CrPC.
    On 14.05.2009 Sm.Singh did not allow Sanitary Inspector of the Municipality to clean the drain. Asstt.Engineer ,Sueveyor of the Municipality have verified the blocking of drain and submitted report to Chairman,Kharagpur Municipality.
    We may kindly be provided with the enquiry reports and let us know how much fees we have to deposit and to where.
    Awaiting for your immediate action,
    Yours faithfully,
    Chanchal Dutta
    Dytta Bari,Kaushallya, Kharagpur 721301
    15th,May, 2009

  21. Dipak Kumar Adhikari said

    Dear Sir/Madam,
    We got Married 05/03/2002, and have a daughter born 09/07/2005. My wife and she’s family given me 498a/34 IPC, FIR NO.276, date 31/08/2009, P.S.: BAGUIATI, it’s not true case, believe me. My wife are engaged/Affair with a boy (Sandip Samanta, S/O. Shankar Kumar Samanta S.B.I. Manager) his house front of my house, all the matters are know every person in my village, and also they given me written about my character. When my wife goes outside form my house near about many vory gold and cash 1.20 lack Indian rupees taken. Not taken my daughter, daughter is now in my house. My wife doing the 498a case’s date 31/08/2009 and I arrest 06/09/2009, court give me bail at 19/09/2009 my 1st court date is 16/10/2009 done. 2nd court date is 04/01/2010 done. Next court date is 07/07/2010 at Barashat court. Some proof (20 pcs. s.m.s., picture with the boy and a c.d.) has me about my wife and the boy that they are in illegal relation. Believe me I and my family love much more to my wife. They (My wife family) are very very poor and live in a bosti Address: 70/H/8 Manicktolla Main Road, Kolkata – 700054, Beside 5 Star Club, my mother see 1st time and she arrange my marriage, and Mother told me they are very poor so what? After marriage she is my family member, believe me not a single word is wrong. Before marriage my family not see my wife’s family, now we understand/also see that she’s family are very bad. My wife, she’s family and the boy they are misusing this law. Now my wife’s family understands all the affair matter. But my wife still now not agree she wants to marry to the boy. My wife left our only solitary daughter to me who is 4 years old having severe “Ashtama Disease, depends on INHEALER, here political Hide & seek game is going on & the father of the parents (THE FATHER OF THE BOY WHO HAS ILLICIT RELATIONS WITH MY WIFE) are rich, so they are spending money to everywhere with a view to be escaped. Now I decided that I’m not taken back my wife. I take a lawyer his name Mr. Kamelash Nandi. I don’t know what happened next? Now I went to punishment the boy. If possible please help me. Please investigate the matter and relief/save me and my family. And . My wife given me U/s. 125 Cr. P. C. Case NO.167/2009, date 16/12/2009. 1st Class Judicial Magistrate at Sealdeh. 1st court date is 15/01/2010 done, 2nd court date is 12/02/2010.
    Thanks
    Dear all of my well wiser,
    Dear friend’s, actually I’m 100 percent victim, so I went to knowing my matter all the Indian and others. I write my matter to our local P.S., Local Councilor, all M.P., M.L.A., Minister in W.B, C.M. in W.B., CBI in W.B, CID in W.B, Governor in W.B, and President in India. P.M. in India, Human rights department, AAP KI KACHEHRI – KIRAN KE SAATH, Kolkata Police, my nation, all of the news channels, and all press, and many more, absolutely you also, But nobody help me, I think you can help me, so I write to you.I’m Punishment + harassment Without Crime.

    With kindest regards,
    Dipak Kumar Adhikari
    Tegharia(Dhali Para),NandanKanan. P.S.: Baguiati.
    P.O. Hatiara. Kolkata-700059 Email: dipakadhikari_59@yahoo.com PH. 9836149983
    W.B. India.

  22. Manas said

    Could anybody please let me know whether the Joint BDOs of a Block Development office are designated PIOs ?

    >Manas

  23. A candidate’s parent are voter & ration card holder . Candidate is now reading at class-12 but she/he dosen’t get ration card till at the age 18. Though s/he appeal a several.Now what s/he can do?

  24. Rina Singh said

    dear sir,
    i had got to know about the RTI 6 months back but was not aware of if it really works in West Bengal coz i had been provided with the numbers of the nodal officers of noida mr. firoz (09711222577) and one of that of Mr. Niraj from west bengal with the mobile number 09718100180. unfortunately i tried a lot to call both the numbers in need but failed to get a single response. Both the numbers were provided by the RTI department i spoke to mr. firoz once from there i got to manage the number for mr. niraz but lastly all the afforts in vain.
    Could you please guide me by telling that the cases pending that time also placed and sent to your e-mail ID if has got to its way of getting the result or can i sendthe same queries again so as to get a justified answer from you.

    regards
    Rina Singh
    099030 55549

  25. Tapan Kumar Ball said

    I need to know some information about the written test held in December 2009 for appointment of primary teacher in Birbhum district, west bengal and about its appointment. I wish to write an application based on RTI to know about the matter. Hence, I want to know name and address of the PIO (public information officer)in this regard. Please cooperate with me.

    Tapan Kumar Ball
    Vill: Nurpur, PO: Supur
    Dist: Birbhum, Pin: 731204
    M-9905197966

  26. p.k. biswas said

    I sought some information from W.B. Public Service Commission in the matter of one selection of post. I doubt there were lack of transparency and arbitrary decisions in the matter of selection. I sought some information from PSC under RTI Act. In the first instance they denied to supply any information. I,again applied second time with fee changing some words of my first queries and protested about their first decision. This time I received a very cunny reply avoiding my correct query and with one incorrect information. I made an appeal to the higher officer but he informed me that he has no more to do anything as done by the first officer. Now I preffer to make second appeal to the central commission. Can anyone supply me the address of central commission and can help me to prepare the appeal.
    Pradyot Biswas

  27. aklesh kumar said

    sir
    i have some queries regarding the recruitment process of W.B. primary teacher 2009 for kolkata district.i have got 79.4% in my madyamik from CBSE board and i am under OBC quota. i have cleared my written and appeared for interview and also submitted my all required documents during counseling . all went too good but when the result is out, the result is very disturbing. the candidates who have less percentage than me got the job, that too in general quota. but my name is not even in the list. they don’t even published or given any data about the percentage,merit list, basis of the selection and the minimum percentage of the last candidate suceeded. their is no transparency in the recruitment. they don’t even shown my merit and overall percentage. this is pure violation of RIGHT TO INFORMATION.
    what are my options ?
    can you help me ?

  28. Dipankar Roy said

    I want to know that who is the PIO or SPIO , for education related issues. if a managing committee of the school doing illegal work, and if i want to know the information about that illegal activities whom should i apply. is there any district or sub divisional information over there.
    Dipankar roy

  29. basanta gauda said

    I want to know that who is the PIO or SPIO , for PENSION related issues in west bangal
    please inform me

    basanta gauda
    09778696577
    orissa

  30. Anand K said

    I want to know that who is the PIO or SPIO, for school related query in Kharagpur.

    Anand Kumar

  31. Amit said

    I want to RTI on local Municipality in Nadia district,WB (Taherpur). Whom I should address this.

  32. Dear sir,
    I am only one panelled scheduled cast Diploma Engineer( as per my gradation list), serving in Howrah Improvement Trust for 24 years (22 years as Sub Assistant Engineer + 2 years as Assistant engineer).At present there are 5 resultant vacancies in the post of executive engineer in my office and my position in the gradation list is in 6th place .As per G.O. No. 8555-F , Dt.-18.9.1985 , page 173 , para-(iv)-It is stated that ‘ Diploma Engineers shall also be eligible for promotion to executive engineers and to higher posts when their turn for promotion comes; ‘ But my office( Howrah Improvement Trust ) has no promotion policy .Will I be eligible for promotion from Diploma Assistant Engineer to the post of Executive Engineer immediately according to the said G.O. No. 8555-F ? Please elaborate on your reply . Thank you ,
    Yours faithfully
    Bechu ram Pati

  33. PRAGYA said

    Dear Sir,
    I am an assistant teacher in a govt aided school in West Bengal, jalpaiguri district. I would like to know about all the funds sanctioned and received/collected by our school from all sources and the expenditure done in the last two financial year and current financial year. So to know above information to whom should I contact and in what format the application should be written?

  34. Dhruba Pal said

    In west bengal there is habit to violet ther RTI act, even by pressure, the PIO gives the wrong information. No punishment, what is the benifit for public in west bengal ? Top to bottom are corrupted, everybody misuse their limitless power, only politics. Now some cases, public is being cheated by the Govt like me. No responses for complain. How we survive ? I am also the victim, I complained PM, President, Governor, CM, every steps, but hopeless. Some cases the Letter from the department had denied, How we believe the Govt.letter ?

  35. anima kindo said

    Sir, we have a trgistered land(1.17acre) in west bengal jalpaiguri alipurduar jaigaon but lack of information we did not record it in land department, after 12 years when we applied for BLLRO department but they rejected our application they said the registration is miproper. When we applied for proper registration, the department refused for re-registration.Taking advantage of this some people has captured our land. Therefore we request you to sugest us for furthet step.

  36. Paramita Kundu said

    I applied for a delayed birth certificate under Dantan Block 1,Paschim Medinipur . The people in the block office, except one person, are very rude. They are asking for new new documents every time we enquire about the status of the application. From their behaviour it is quite clear they are unnecessarily delaying the process. What to do? I asked about RTI. they are behaving as if they didn’t hear the name of the act.

  37. P.C.Lakshmi said

    sir,crores of fraud was took placed in shri M.V.Rao ,IAS of West Bengal cadre in NIRD&PR,Hyderabad ,it is came to know that 55 crores were took placed in West Bengal also ,please intimate it is true, I will pay money for xerox copies . Honesty is zindabad, culprits are to be caught.

  38. those who are interested can also visit: https://foryourinformationwb.wordpress.com/

  39. Nilima said

    Need help regarding a big land scam that took place in Sonarpur area. Authorities are trying to suppress information.
    I am emailing all the activist forum. But getting no response.
    1. Please provide me an RTI activist groups whose email and phone numbers are working. Email shouldn’t bounce back as I encountered.
    2. Who is the SIC among the following:
    (a) State Information Commission,
    Shri Arun Kumar Bhattacharyya,
    Bhawani Bhavan,2nd Floor, Kolkata – 700027

    or (b)
    Shri Dr. G.D. Gautama, IAS (Retd)
    State Information Commissioner (Holding Additional Charge of State Chief Information Commissioner)
    West Bengal Information Commission
    11 A, Mirza Galib Street, Khadya Bhaban, Kolkata-700 087

    3. How the RTI works for NRIs ? They wont be able to be present in front of information commission. How the cases are handled in that case.

Leave a Reply

 
